Post Workout Nutrition

19 02 2011

In the world of training there’s always been a lot of discussion on diet.  What to eat, how to eat, what not to eat, how not to eat, cheat days, cheat weeks, high protein, high carbs…and the list goes on and on.  I’m not an expert on diet or nutrition but there are a few surefire things that I know work for me.

Here are a few examples of principles I follow: Personally I don’t eat dairy.  I feel like it keeps me “puffy” instead of helping me stay lean.  I try to stick to organic free range meats.  I eat green veggies at almost every meal.  Healthy fats are a must including avocados, almonds, olive oil, flax seed oil and others.  Also I don’t believe in bombarding the body with loads of unhealthy fats and carbs to “bulk” then spending months to loose the fat so I can finally see the lean muscle.  I feel as if I never progress and it becomes a viscous cycle. But again, to each his own.

Regardless of whether you eat dairy and bulk, one or the other; or you don’t really care, there is one thing EVERYONE should be including in their diet.  After training we should all be quick to grab some sort of post workout recovery shake.  I can’t speak for all formula’s and brands but I did want to share some info about the products I’ve used.

 

 

Optimum Nutrition’s After Max – 40 grams of carbs (Maltodextrin), 40 grams of protein, and 5 grams of both creatine and glutamine.  I found After Max to be a FAIR post shake.  I’m not really I big fan of maltodextrin or at least maltodextrin alone as the only source of carbs for recovery.  I’ve found more success with products that use multiple types of carbs for recovery after weight training.  I also feel like After Max is missing an antioxidant to help with muscle detoxification and BCAA support.

 

 

 

 

Optimum Nutrition’s Glyco-Maize – 35 grams of Waxy Maize Starch.  You know exactly what your getting with Glyco-Maize, no colors or extras (good or bad) just carbs.  Waxy maize starches have been are long-chain, highly-branched, exceptionally-dense complex carbohydrates that are rapidly absorbed.  I usually mix it right in with my protein powder for a post workout shake.  I’ve seen the best results from Waxy Maize if I stick to using it after long runs instead of after weight training sessions.  Again, only the one source of carbs doesn’t work the best for me.

 

 

 

 

Controlled Lab’s Golden Gains – 41 grams of carbs (whole oat flour and waxy maize), 21 grams of protein, 5 grams of healthy fats, and fruit and veggie antioxidants.  Packed with all the essential nutrients for a complete recovery.  Only problem is they only make it in Apple Pie flavor which is really hard to choke down and isn’t very thirst quenching.  If you can get over the gagging taste this is a great choice.

 

 

 

 

 

Max Muscle’s ARM – 32 grams of carbs (Maltodextrin, Dextrose, and Waxy Maize Starch), 28 grams of protein, BCAA’s, glutamine, creatine, and antioxidants.  I like the fact that ARM provides the body with multiple carb sources as well as glutamine and creatine and also taste great!  Comes in Fruit Punch and Lemon Lime, both of which taste like Gatorade.  ARM is my top pick.

 

 

 

 

Muscle Pharm’s Recon – 28 grams of carbs (maltodextrin, dextrose, honey powder), 7 grams of glutamine, muscle detoxifier, 3:1:2 BCAA blend, and EAA complex.  With multiple carb sources and its BCAA blend, Recon provides all the essentials after a grueling workout.  I’ve really noticed less fatigue later in the day and I’m rarely ever sore the next day.  Only problem I have with Recon is you need to have both this and a protein shake for complete recovery, not a bid deal though.  Recon is a GREAT choice!

 

 

 

I know there’s tons of other choices out there but these are just the few that i’ve tested, so I though I’d shed some light.  You can also blend up your own post workout shakes using ingredients like protein powder, almond butter, peanut butter, eggs, berries, cinnamon, etc.  Whichever product you decide to use or blend together, make sure your giving your body the nutrients it needs after a grueling session.

DEFY THE ODDS

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

